Talca, Chile
Tuesday August 14th, 2007
Talca, Chile
Universidad de Talca
Google Map


Fantasy in D minor kv397

3 preludes Op34


Waltz Op 18
Waltz Op 34

Transcendental Etude in A minor

Requiebros (from Suite Goyescas)
La Maja y el Ruiseñor (from Suite Goyescas)

Canción de Fuego Fatuo (from Amor Brujo, piano transcrition: J.L.N.)

Rondeña (from Suite Iberia)


Fantasy in D minor, K. 397  has been composed by MOZART in 1782. Despite being unfinished at Mozart’s death, the piece is nonetheless one of his more popular compositions for the piano. The original manuscript has not survived and the final measures of the piece have been lost. The ending as it currently exists is believed to have been written by August Eberhard Müller, one of the composer’s admirers

The 24 Preludes op. 34 for piano written by 26-year-old SHOSTAKOVICH in 1932-1933  in the development and maturing of Shostakovich’s compositional style.

In 1875, Nikolay Matveyevich Bernard, the editor of the St. Petersburg music magazine Nouvellist, commissioned TCHAIKOVSKY to write 12 short piano pieces, one for each month of the year. Bernard suggested a subtitle for each month’s piece. TCHAIKOVSKY accepted the commission and all of Bernard’s subtitles, and in the December 1875 edition of the magazine, readers were promised a new TCHAIKOVSKY piece each month throughout 1876. The epigraphs that appeared on publication of the pieces were chosen by Bernard, not by Tchaikovsky. In 1886 the publisher P. Jurgenson acquired the rights to The Seasons and the piece has been reprinted many times. Tchaikovsky did not devote his most serious compositional efforts to these pieces; they were composed to order, and they were a way of supplementing his income. He saw the writing of music to a commission as just as valid as writing music from his own inner inspiration, however for the former he needed a definite plot or text, a time limit, and the promise of payment at the end. Most of the pieces were in simple ABA form, but each contains a minor melodic masterpiece.